D’Tigers, D’Tigress final Olympics list out

All is now set for the 2020 Olympic Games as the D’Tigers and D’Tigress coaches have released their final 12 man roster. 

After about a month of camping exercise in Sacramento and Las Vegas, D’Tigers head coach, Mike Brown selected Josh Okogie (Minnesota Timberwolves), Miami Heat’s trio of Gabe Vincent, KZ Okpala, and Precious Achiuwa.

Jahlil Okafor (Detroit Pistons), Miye Oni (Utah Jazz) are all in line to make their debut for Nigeria after they were selected in the final 12 man roster.

Jordan Nwora (Milwaukee Bucks) will join Caleb Agada (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Obi Emegano (Fuenlabrada, Spain), Chimezie Metu (Sacramento Kings), and Ike Nwamu (Samara, Russia).

The team which recorded two famous wins against the USA (World number 1) and Argentina (number 4) before a loss to Australia in their last tune-up game will also include Ekpe Udoh who just completed a move to Virtus Bologna in the Italian Serie A. 

According to the latest power ranking compiled by analysts, D’Tigers are rated fourth on the power ranking with just a week to the commencement of the basketball event.

D’Tigers are grouped against Italy, Australia, and Germany. 

All eyes will be on Adaora Elonu, Aisha Balarabe, Elizabeth Balogun, Promise Amukamara, Atonye Nyingifa, Ezinne Kalu, Pallas Kunaiyi-Akpannah, and Ify Ibekwe at the Olympics ahead of their first game against the USA on the 27th of July. 

Coach Otis Hughley who led the team to the 2019 Afrobasket win in Senegal also picked Oderah Chidom, Victoria Macaulay, Erica Ogwumike, and Amy Okonkwo to complete the list of the D’Tigress team heading to the oriental city of Tokyo. 

The four players are in line to make their competitive debut for Nigeria at the games.

D’Tigress resumed Olympics camping in February and played series of tune-up games as they are set to face the USA, France, and host-Japan.

The 5 months of training to date remains the longest in the history of basketball preparation.